top of page

Oh, September

Updated: Sep 4, 2023

As usual, I made a bunch of plans, and only about 1/3 of them came true.

 

there's been a little progress...


Mostly inspired out of desperation, I decided to try a blogging trick I came across using AI and trending Google News. That was until (at this point, I don't even fret to say) I couldn't afford the domain hosting price, so I put it on hold for now until I can try it out. Since (and I don't know exactly when, damnit! but) the It's A Girl Thing brand starts with a podcast with my bestie, of course.


I'm still fighting against voices every day, as it seems every "bright" idea I've ever had is kind of on its way out as AI continues to roll in. Admittedly, I was bigging up Writer's Work before I actually gave it a try, but after I did, do not waste your time or money on it. I learned from my own experience and reviews I ignored before I wasted $15, as many of the "high-quality assignments" they boasted about can be found on LinkedIn and other freelance sites. I did find The Urban Writers and submitted a sample. So, hopefully, we'll be making some real money soon.


August was pretty dope. Otherwise, I overcame some major mental blocks that were holding me back. I can't really tell you too much because it's better left unsaid. So let's say I finally understand why I said that ain't coffee - cause it definitely ain't. Soft launching my nudes went great, though - I made $20. Of course, while I clicked around the internet to find any reason to avoid my own plan, I came across Spring (formally Tee Spring). It's no different from Printfy, but since I'll probably lose cocoashops soon, I got Mischievous/Misfits next on my list.


Even though my hips have made three new friends, it still seems pretty weird talking to myself. I got so many pieces of me here and there, and the picture is coming together.... slowly. But I feel like I've gotten too far ahead of myself at the place it counts the most - Scary Hours.


I told you guys (well, myself) I wanted to end August with episode two of Scary Hours finally written, recorded, and ready to go. I wanted to start Noel Book Club and The Traffic Jam, and I kind of did that with Break In Case of Emergency and The Laundry Room. But I haven't written any new episodes or gotten any new followers. Still not giving up. I know it's because I'm still barely posting. I've got my karma past five on Reddit, but we both know that doesn't equal sales.


So, back to the drawing board! I start every month with a fresh desk and a new list. This month, I'm going all the way back to the beginning and starting with Patreon. I also told you guys that the first thing I did to get ready for this wild ride was create a bunch of playlists that only Devin could understand. Somewhere between de Bullys' family tree and my first official writing assignment as a freelancer, I decided to take a second, be realistic, and do something that I can do today.


This September, I will introduce you all to Hugo. Not the leprechaun per se, but the first 14 stories of "The Blueprints."



As I've claimed 1,000,000 times, the stories are interconnected, and I needed the playlists to keep the stories straight. But then I just kept making playlists, and making playlists, I forgot where to start. That's why Scary Hours means so much to me. It was a test. I had no plan for that first episode - and barely have a plan for the second. Now that I know it takes about a week to bring one episode from start to finish, how to explain lore like the Black Moon curse, Limbo, Hollandaise, and The Slumber Party. Just how much I want to mention The Beyond and Mason, and Mason in The Beyond, and why Vogue and Onyx are practically in every story. I figured since I'm running from my TikTok tryouts so bad, why not publish a (short?) collection of short stories and promote that along with everything else - Just like Devin intended.


I've already put my 😾 on Reddit; what's a few scenes gon' hurt? I asked Where do all the writers go? And I'm pretty sure I found them. My anxiety is still through the roof, but I need to give my Patreon a makeover because (I'm sure it's nothing to brag on), but with the right playlist (-: LOL I can write a 4,000+ word scene, right Kindle Vella? One story a night, a peer review on Reddit, a mashup for Krate Raiders, a check off my playlist, a couple of "promos" for TikTok and Instagram, and an exclusive download for my favorite Masonites. By the end of September, I'll probably still owe Chime, but I'll officially move ahead one more space to The Prelude.


yeah, pretty much like that François

Speaking of Krate Raiders, I'm pretty sure it is too late for the Ultimate Put It On The Floor Mix, but I still haven't edited any of my WMW footage, or them struggle bus GRWMs. I knew the Scary Hours anniversary was going to come and go, but I can't believe I did that Watch Me Work literally a year ago and still haven't posted it. It's time to redo all the websites now.





I mean, it's been time, but I am one person.



It's a Girl Thing (*the blog) Funny story, I never thought about doing 'Issa' Girl Thing... those were the only domains available now. And while we're here...

cocoashops *RIP? Either way, welcome ... Mischievous/Misfits


HUGO *coming ASAP


@wuzykiwi annd,



Annnd the most embarrassing of them all, The SlumBum Project


If I forgot anything, I'm getting some help.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page